Oceans

Well, it’s 2017. I had intended to write a post about my 1st year anniversary with the #silentshoutout who is now #loudloudshoutout, but then again, I also intended to finish my thesis by 31 Dec 2016 and look how not close to finishing I am.

2016 was a very different year, mostly because it’s the first year I’m in a relationship. Being in a relationship feels different and I’ve learnt so much over last year. As I said at the beginning of the year, I don’t expect much wow things to happen in 2016, just more of maintaining and pruning. I think that in itself is hard. It’s easy to start things, but it’s not easy maintaining.

I can’t really remember any big things that happened in 2016, except that my friend of 10 years got engaged, I ditched the bb for an iphone (finally), my boyfriend joined me for masters, I got my home team research award, I changed CG, I got baptised…okay, sounds like a lot actually now that I think of it.

I think this was a whole year of learning. Learning how to cut and untie some relationships, learning how to grow and start others. Last year, I got my iphone moment too (this changes everything moment). I’ve learnt so much about myself over the past year.

So 2017, what’s new? I think 2017 is going to be a transition year for me again. I’m going to be graduating this coming semester (finally) and I’m going to be forcefully ejected out of the education system into the real world. 5 years of university. It felt long, it was long and I thought graduation was far away. I guess not. I spent much of today panicking over job search and putting my thesis on hold, as a result (Also because I downloaded roller coaster tycoon). The fear of not getting a job is real, the fear of not getting a job that I will not dread and actually enjoy is also real.

After panicking for a day, I realised this is probably going to be a whole new season of trusting God. When I’ve finally learnt to trust God and get a hang of this whole “God is control of my education” thing in my final semester, God sends me to level 2. It’s time to trust God in my career too.He’s never failed and he won’t start now.So that’s something to look forward to in 2017 I guess – learning to trust God all over again.

So that’s one – graduation and job search. Actually, that should be 2 separate things because graduation in itself is already a challenge. I really think people who have completed their thesis are heroes. “Great spirit of those who lived before, take our hands and lead us” (Brother Bear, all you no childhood people). But I’m finishing up my thesis for the first review that hopefully will be in by the time I go US.

And that’s the next thing to look forward to for 2017 – USA! Jet and I will be going to USA in January for a conference and then heading to Orlando (disneyworld and Harry potter world, anybody?!) and then New York (CONCRETE JUNGLE WHERE DREAMS ARE MADE OF~). It’s been a long time since I’ve travelled to non-asian countries since exchange, which was a good 2-3 years ago, so I’m a little nervous. But, I’m also excited because this will be our first trip together and because DISNEYWORLD. Not land. WORLD. Okay, I think I have to, technically, be excited about my conference presentation since that’s what NUS is sponsoring me to go to the US for (I should start doing my presentation up). But still, a nerd can be excited about other things, right? right?

The third thing is BTO results. Okay, the chances of getting a queue number is rather slim, but then, it’s still quite exciting to be able to receive the results for our application. Gah gah gah. 0009 please.

I guess the 4th thing is kind frivolous. It’s the year of the CHEEEKEN. Yea, finally the year of the cheeken. The next time would be when I’m 36 pfft.

Dear’s one year of being smoke-free!!! WHOO! He’s gonna be smoke-free for a year in about 26 days! He’s really my inspiration. Promotion, good results, appearing on newspaper like a celeb, best boyfie in the world and now smoke-free for 1 year?! wow, what did I do to get such an amazing creature hahaha.

Oh yes, one more is being TA for PL1101E. Haha, I’m going to be a TA this semester for the freshies. I’m sort of excited for this. I like teaching so this should be interesting for me. Also, I’m taking thai painting this sem! AFTER 10 SEMESTERS. I finally get to take the module I’ve always wanted to take since I even entered NUS.

Okay, I realise these are all happening at the start of 2017. I’m not sure what’s going to happen after that hahaha. Whatever it is, woohoo! 2017 is here! yaye. Designated survivor season 1b! Yea!

Some things I want to accomplish for 2017:

  1. Finish the Udemy courses.

Actually, that’s all I can think of right now. hahaha. Okay errbuddy, have a great 2017!

 

 

Leave a Reply

