New chapter

I’ve privatised all my blog posts from 2006-2013. That’s half of my bloglife actually. I did it because I realised I’ll be starting work soon and there are some parts of me I’m not quite comfortable putting it out there. Those cringe-worthy years. So, I set up another private blog to house all my old posts for me to read whenever I want to and also because I’m aware some of my friends sometimes use my blog as a time machine.

I’m supposed to start work tomorrow, but it’s been pushed back to next week. That’s good I think because it gives me some “down” time before I start work. Of course I wish for longer “down time”, but beggers can’t be choosers. I haven’t graduated so I expect the next couple of months to be a little hectic – juggling work, school and TA duties.

I think I’m incredibly lucky to have found work so soon and at a place, where the boss is so flexible. The pay is decent and it’s something that I’ve always wanted to try too. It’s funny how it all falls into place. Plus, it’s so freaking near my house. I’m considering investing in a kick scooter. On top of that, I’m still trying for my “dream job”, and it’s something that the current employer is okay with me doing. I’m extremely grateful that they allow this.

I’ve learnt something through this whole job search process. My job search process was a little nerve-wracking and it contained much uncertainty. I was rather stressed for a period of time, but I’ve learnt how to trust God in a new way. I’ve learnt that nothing in this world is worth it if it demands your peace. I hope I take this lesson with me as I start to work. I hope that I’ll never do anything against my conscience and that I always keep my integrity.

A few times I was faced with the decision to either do the “smart” thing or the “right” thing. I chose to do the “right” thing – right in my books at least. Of course, there was my wonderful fiance and friends there to support my decision. Some said it was a stupid move and maybe, in the long run, I would think it was too, but everything worked out better than I expected for now. I have to remember to always give more weight to the voices who know me and love me and I trust. I’m proud of myself too because I never imagined myself being so brave. I surprise myself. hahaha.

It’s daunting. Starting work. I’m finally trying to be a productive member of the society. It also means that now my actions have a little bit more real world consequences. I hope I never grow weary giving my best. I hope I never grow jaded (for too long). I hope I always try to be excellent, even for things that don’t seemingly matter.

I’m worried that I’ll lose myself. That I’ll become competitive, scheming, or political. I hope I never be and that I’ll always have people to keep me in check. As I start work, I hope I’ll never forget God and to spend time with God. I hope that I’ll always remember what’s most important – relationships with God, friends, family and Jethro.

I haven’t forgotten and will never forget that everything I have today is God’s. At the start of my degree, I told God that my degree is His and I’ll do whatever He wants me to do with this degree. I don’t know where this whole thing will take me. I’m not sure whether I’ll stay here for the long haul or I’ll be transferred to my “dream job”, but either way, I’m willing to let God guide me to where he wants me to go. There have been so many times in my life where He has put me in places I didn’t intend or necessarily enjoy being in, but out of those places, better things came. Wherever I end up, I hope I never forget that I’m right where I need and am intended to be.

(1 Timothy 6:1-2)

5Slaves, obey your earthly masters with respect and fear and sincerity of heart, just as you would show to Christ. 6And do this not only to please them while they are watching, but as servants of Christ, doing the will of God from your heart. 7Serve with good will, as to the Lord and not to men, 8because you know that the Lord will reward each one for whatever good he does, whether he is slave or free.

9And masters, do the same for your slaves. Give up your use of threats, because you know that He who is both their Master and yours is in heaven, and there is no favoritism with Him.

 

Leave a Reply

